About Us

The Digital Publishing Awards are produced by the National Media Awards Foundation, a not-for-profit, registered charity that has administered Canada’s annual National Magazine Awards since 1977. With a reputation for facilitating a rigorous, fair and transparent awards program in which content creators are recognized and rewarded for outstanding achievement in magazine journalism, the NMAF is proud to present the Digital Publishing Awards in consultation with Canada’s leading producers and creators of digital publishing.


The Digital Publishing Awards recognize and promote excellence in the content and creation of Canadian digital publications through an annual program of awards and national publicity efforts.


This year’s Digital Publishing Awards Advisory Committee members, who provided invaluable guidance to crafting the 2018 program, include:


  • Jean-Philippe Cipriani, Director, Digital Content, L'actualité
  • Jude Isabella, Editor-in-Chief, Hakai Magazine
  • Matt Frehner, Head of Presentation, The Globe and Mail
  • Kenny Yum, Chief of Staff, CBC News


2017-2018 Board of Directors & Staff 


Executive Committee / Comité de direction 


President / Président

       Nino Di Cara

       Executive Vice President, Content Marketing / Vice-président directeur, marketing de contenu

       Bookmark (formerly Spafax)


Executive At-Large / Administrateur général

Terry Sellwood

Retired, formerly President / Ancien président 

Cottage Life Media 


Vice President NMA / Vice-présidente (NMA)

Melony Ward

Publisher / Éditrice

Canada's History and Kayak


Vice President DPA / Vice-président (DPA)

Kenny Yum

Chief of staff, Senior Director / Directeur principal 

CBC News


Treasurer / Trésorière

Liana Bell, CA, CPA

Partner / Associée

Clark Henning LLP


Past-President / Président sortant

Joyce Byrne

Publisher / Éditrice

Avenue Magazine 

Directors / Administrateurs 

      Julie Cailliau 

      Editor-in-Chief / Rédactrice en chef

      Les Affaires


      Derek Finkle 

      Founder / Fondateur

      Canadian Writers Group


      Matt Frehner 

      Head of Presentation / Responsable de la présentation

      The Globe and Mail


Christopher Frey

Founding editor, Hazlitt, and Toronto correspondent, Monocle / Fondateur de Hazlitt; correspondant à Toronto, Monocle

Monocle Magazine


Curtis Gillespie

Editor / Rédacteur en chef

Eighteen Bridges

David Hayes

Freelance journalist / Journaliste pigiste


Elamin Abdelmahmoud

Editor, Social Media and News Curation Responsable des médias sociaux et de l'édition des nouvelles

Buzzfeed Canada


Jessica Johnson

Executive Editor and Creative Director / Directrice de la rédaction et de la création

The Walrus


      Peter McNeill 

      National Director / Directeur national

      KPMG Enterprise


Dan McPhee

Head of Media Platforms / Directeur de la division des plateformes médiatiques

Google Canada


Erin Millar

Co-founder and CEO / Co-fondatrice et directrice générale

Discourse Media


Judith Pereira 

Managing Editor / Directrice de rédaction

Report on Business


Dominique Ritter

Editor-in-Chief / Rédactrice en chef

Reader's Digest Canada


Paul Roelofs

Creative Director, Publication Designer / Designer et directeur de la création

Vancouver Magazine, Western Living Magazine 


Lisa Whittington-Hill

Publisher / Éditrice 

This Magazine 


Our Team / Notre équipe 


Barbara Gould

Executive Director / Directrice générale

Richard A. Johnson

Media Liaison and Special Projects Manager / Liaison avec les médias et directeur, projets spéciaux


Émilie Pontbriand

Bilingual Communications Manager / Directrice des communications


Eny Kuen

Production Coordinator / Coordonnatrice de production


Leah Edwards

Digital Communications Coordinator


Stephanie Philp

Interns / Stagiaires